Women Studies Program

MSC03 2155
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131

Physical Location:

Phone: (505) 277-3854
Fax: (505) 277-0182

Women's History Project 2013 Honorees

March 25, 2013

For March 2013, the National Women’s History Project selected the theme, "Women Inspiring Innovation Through Imagination: Celebrating Women in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics." It is with great pleasure that we announce the Honorees for National Women’s History Month 2013. The 18 women chosen are all extraordinary visionaries and role models in the STEM fields, where women are still noticeably underrepresented.

The 2013 Honorees represent a remarkable range of accomplishments and a wide diversity of specialties including medicine, robotics, computer programming, atmospheric chemistry, architecture and primatology. These women’s lives and work span the centuries of American history and come from different cultural and ethnic backgrounds. We are proud to honor them and all women seeking to advance these important fields.

We extend our sincere thanks to our supporters, who nominated over 115 outstanding women. The Selection Committee faced a very difficult task in narrowing the list to 18. We also want to congratulate and celebrate all of the notable women who were nominated. A complete list follows of the 18 Honorees for 2013.

2013 Honorees

Edith Clarke (1883–1959)  Electrical Engineer

Rita R. Colwell (1934) Molecular Microbial Ecologist and Scientific Administrator

Louise Pearce (1885–1959) Physician and Pathologist

Olga Frances Linares (1936) Anthropologist and Archaeologist

Elizabeth Blackwell (1821–1910) Physician 

Patricia Era Bath (1942) Ophthalmologist and Inventor

Julia Morgan (1872–1957)  Architect

Susan A. Gerbi (1944) Molecular Cell Biologist

Katharine Burr Blodgett (1898–1979)
Physicist and Inventor

Dian Fossey (1932–1985) Primatologist and Naturalize

Hattie Elizabeth Alexander (1901–1968) Pediatrician and Microbiologist

Flossie Wong-Staal (1946) Virologist and Molecular Biologist

Grace Murray Hopper (1906–1992) Computer Scientist

Marlyn Barrett (1954) K-12 STEM Educator

Jill Pipher (1955) Mathematician

Susan Solomon (1956) Atmospheric Chemist

Helen Greiner (1967) Mechanical Engineer and Roboticist